top of page
  • Writer's picturePort of Redwood City

Port of Redwood City Port Commission Reappointments

Commissioners Richard Claire, Lorianna Kastrop and Ralph A. Garcia will serve additional four-year terms

REDWOOD CITY, CALIF.— On September 21, 2020, the City council of the City of Redwood City voted to reappoint three incumbent commissioners to the Port of Redwood City’s Board of Port Commissioners. Commissioners Richard Claire, Ralph A. Garcia and Lorianna Kastrop will continue to lead the Port, along with current board members Richard Dodge and R. Simms Duncan, making key decision on priorities, strategies, budget and operations.

Richard Claire currently serves as the Board’s vice chairperson and was first appointed to the Port Commission in 2007 and reappointed in 2012, 2016, and now in 2020. He also served 21 years on the Redwood City Council, including four terms as mayor. 

Ralph A. Garcia, who previously served ten and a half years on the Redwood City Planning commission, now serves as the Chairperson for the Port Commission. Garcia was first appointed in 2005, reappointed in 2007, 2012, 2016 and now 2020. 

Lorianna Kastrop was first appointed to the Port Commission in June of 2008 and reappointed in 2012, 2016 and again in 2020. She is the second woman to be appointed to the commission and the first woman to serve as chair. 

“Our Board of Port Commissioners are the foundation of the Port.  It is with their dedicated service and leadership that the Port continues to thrive as an economic engine for the region, offering waterfront recreation opportunities and serving the Silicon Valley community and beyond,” said Executive Director, Kristine A. Zortman.

For more information or media interviews, please contact Revekka Balancier at or 760.683.8395 x707.


bottom of page